Music: On / Off

Chinese Version


Brunei Darussalam is a small country of approximately 5,700 sq. kms. situated on the northwest coast of the island of Borneo, the world's third largest island. Bounded on the north by the South China Sea, Brunei is surrounded on all other sides by the Malaysian state of Sarawak.

Divided by Sarawak into two parts, the larger and more populated area is made up of Brunei Muara district, Tutong and Belait districts, with the less developed Temburong district on the eastern boundary. 

Brunei Darussalam means "place of peace or peaceful abode". An apt description given that the typhoons which batter other areas bordering the South China Sea, never touches Brunei.


The climate is equatorial and temperatures average 30C year round, but though the average daily sunshine is more than 7 hours a day, bring an umbrella as the rainfall in coastal areas exceeds 3,000mm annually and nearly 4,000mm over the interior.


Brunei has a population of around 350,000. Malays form 70% and the remainder are Chinese and foreign workers. The official language is Malay, with English widely spoken, and used for business and commerce.

On resumption of independence in 1984, His Majesty Sultan Haji Hassanal Bolkiah Mu'izzaddin Waddaulah. The Sultan and Yang Di-Pertuan of Negara Brunei Darussalam proclaimed Brunei Darussalam a sovereign, independent democratic Malay Islamic monarchy according to Sunni belief.